Twisted Spaghetti-Doin’ It a Lil Bit Differently

Well y’all I’m going to be honest right here-I didn’t get everything done this weekend that I intended to {SHOCKER RIGHT?}. I actually slept in and just plain ole didn’t get around to a couple things. That’s something I haven’t done in, like, years. Cue dogs running around, cue house renovations to do, cue house sale deadline…..Suffice to say we haven’t been ABLE to relax in so long that I fell off the “busy busy busy” wagon this weekend. The short point of that diatribe is to tell ya I’m posting a recipe today because we actually did NOT renovate anything in the camper this weekend. I swear we’re going to get around to it eventually. If you want to know if you should even bother checking back, have a look at our design plan to feel inspired to come back around.

The plus side is tomorrow I have a super fun organizing post planned, inspired by my friend Jen at IHeartOrganizing. Its the best blog ever. (And BTW her 2014/2015 planner just came out!) She’s totally inspired me to organize and label everything in my house. I even got a Silhouette Cameo for my birthday this week, all inspired by her and her wonderful blog! {THANK YOU JEN! AND HUSBAND FOR BUYING IT!}

Today though let’s get back to food.Β  Everyone has their own favorite spaghetti recipe, I’m going to post mine here. But what I totally LOVE about this spaghetti is the reason we call it TWISTED Spaghetti-the noodles. Y’all these noodles are heavenly! But here’s what this recipe will end up looking like if you do try it, lets get you inspired first.

GraphicWe have a wonderful local farmers market that I adore. The primary reason we go there is for pasta. Jason and I don’t eat a ton of pasta, it just doesn’t agree with us since carbs our both of our nemesis.Β  So when we DO have it we want it to be really worth it. Pappardelles Pasta right from here in Denver makes the best I’ve ever tasted. You can purchase it online or at over 200 farmers markets nationwide. We used the Lemon Chive for this concoction and that’s why its Twisted Spaghetti. The flavoring in the noodles is really what gives your spaghetti that extra kick. You guys there are like HUNDREDS of flavors to try! Jalapeno Lemon, Calypso Blend, Habanero. We used the Jalapeno Lemon later in the week for something else and it was pretty heavenly.

The company’s story is super fun too. Pappardelles was founded twenty years ago this year. The two main guys even traveled to Italy to find the best ingredients and machines. They wanted their pasta to be super authentic. So then oddly enough when the Pope one day visited Denver for a conference, he came in to get their pasta-he wanted pasta just like he could get at home! So y’all if El Papa eats this pasta, you know its good.

DSC_0138

Here’s what you’ll need for my personal spaghetti recipe:

  • Amazing noodles
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Montreal Steak Seasoning
  • Parsley flakes or real parsley if you live in a place where anything green actually grows! >(
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Your favorite sauce (or make your own, I haven’t figured out one I love yet so Ragu is still my go to!)
  • Crushed Red Pepper
  • Hamburger
  • Olive Oil
  • Fresh Basil

Alrighty y’all all I do is start by browning the burger in a pan with a little bit of olive oil.

DSC_0134

That’s pretty basic. I then throw a dash each of the montreal steak seasoning, italian seasoning, parsley flakes and crushed red pepper. Fold this into your hamburger and continue browning. Once the burger is just about done you’ll add your sauce and about half a handful of the fresh basil.

DSC_0144

DSC_0143

And then get your wine ready :0)

DSC_0142

DSC_0141

And then go ahead and throw in a little parmesan for good measure.

DSC_0140

At this point I also did a little taste test. We wanted our spaghetti to have a little kick to it to go with the noodles, so I added more red pepper flake to this. We did cayenne once upon a time, but then the whole thing just tasted like chili to me haha.

Once I did that I set the sauce on low and covered it, stirring one last time. On to the noodles y’all. I mean aren’t they just gorgeous?!

DSC_0135

DSC_0146

DSC_0148

I let them boil in the pot and then you’re seriously almost done!

almost-done

Grabbed up the rest of my basil to put in a small bowl on the table. I love fresh basil as a garnish! This year we purchased a greek basil plant and although it smells great, its not very pungent in taste. Next year I’m going to go back to regular ole big leaf basil.

DSC_0137

Now you’re done! Serve up that pasta and sauce and you have a lovely dinner ahead. Enjoy!

DSC_0153

DSC_0154

 

 

Leave a Reply

