Honeyed Cauliflower and Quinoa Fried “Rice”

If you guys have been following us you know we {mostly} gave up wheat last year. We still do eat it occasionally-if a great burger presents itself I’m probably NOT going to turn it down. But for the most part we stay away from it and are both real sensitive to it.  I’m always on the lookout for great gluten free recipes and both of these caught my eye from Pinterest.

I’m also a firm believer in the following.

photo1

Ah thank you Mrs. Child…..

photo(8)

Both of these recipes are simple to make and I changed them slightly from what was on Pinterest.

Here’s the list of ingredients. Quinoa takes forever to cook up here at altitude but if you don’t have that issue, plan on about 40 minutes to get this all done.

Ingredients:

  • 1 small head of cauliflower
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 cup GF breadcrumbs
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • oil for frying (we used canola)
  • toasted sesame seeds
  • honey
  • hot sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili garlic paste
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • ginger powder
  • olive oil
  • half of a small yellow onion diced ( I used red here because its what I had, but yellow would be better! )
  • 2 carrots diced
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 3 cups cooked quinoa
  • 3 green onions sliced

Of course both of these dishes would be fab on their own, but we went with a little mix of both. They paired really nicely!

Since quinoa does take so very long to get started in Colorado I did that first. 40 minutes after boiling I had a great pot of quinoa ready to go. Next I sliced my cauliflower into thin slices and broke the florets off of the main stem. I personally tried steaks but couldn’t deal with the insane chewiness of the center, so we go for bite sized. Next heat up about 1 inch of water in a large flat bottomed frying pan.  You’ll want to simmer the water and then place your cauliflower inside with the top on. Let it heat up for about 4-6 minutes or until the caulis are tender to the touch of a fork.

Once the cauliflower is all steamed set it aside to cool. Mix your eggs, sesame oil, chili garlic paste and soy sauce into a large gallon plastic bag. Drop the cauliflower in as soon as its cooled and set it aside to soak up the goodness.

photo

It looks icky, sorry cauliflower is just gross sometimes during the process ;0) Its my least favorite veggie so I had to find some amazing ways to cook it up! I like to leave it for 15 minutes or so to really absorb the flavors its mixed in. In my case, while I did this I got the stir fried quinoa going. I added my chopped onion to a second skillet with a little bit of olive oil. Over medium heat I browned the onion until it was caramelized, then added in my frozen veggies, half the green onions, another 3 tablespoons of soy sauce and another tablespoon of sesame oil, the 1/2 teaspoon of ginger powder, the carrots and the quinoa (basically everything that’s going in!).

photo(4)

I turned the quinoa’s heat to low and just kept turning to really allow the quinoa to absorb all the flavors. I left it on low and covered the quinoa while I checked again on the cauliflower.  At this point I had my breading for the cauli set aside.

photo(1)

I got my oil going on the stove and when it started to shimmer I dropped each breaded cauliflower piece into the oil. I breaded them pretty lightly with a mix of the flour and breadcrumbs and paprika. Super simple. I cooked the cauliflower on each side for 5 minutes, until they were pretty browned.

photo(2)

Once I flipped them to the second side I moved back to the quinoa, its all cooked at this point so there are just a few finishing touches!

photo(3)

I separated the quinoa around towards the edges of my pot making a hole in the center. In this hole I dropped the last egg, folding it into the quinoa until it was totally scrambed. Voila! Quinoa Fried Rice! By the time the egg was done my cauliflower was done also. I used my fab tongs to move the cauliflower to a paper towel to soak up the extra grease. Now all ya gotta do is serve! And beware the hungry onlookers…..

photo(5)

photo(8)

photo(6)

Thanks for stopping by and I sincerely hope you enjoy this fab dish! Its a staple around our house and we come back to it every few weeks. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

