Thai Peanut Quinoa Bowl-Thank You Iowa Girl Eats!

You guys I found the best recipe blog ever on Pinterest. Its called Iowa Girl Eats and I love everything she cooks. Maybe I’ll go live at her house-but seriously we tried one of her recipes last night and it was amazing. I recreated it as you can see below. Please go check out her blog here and try her other wonderful recipes. I’m sure to try many more myself! Even my husband couldn’t stop saying “This is damn good!” every 10 minutes :0)

Here’s what you’ll need, I made a few amendments based on our family’s preferences (Read: LOTS of peanut butter)

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups chicken broth (this is for the quinoa, and we use more up here in the mountains due to altitude. You might get away with a little bit less!)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (low sodium is best but either works fine)
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • 3 tablespoons creamy peanut butter
  • 2 teaspoons chili garlic sauce
  • 1 small package of chicken tenders sliced thin
  • 1 cup sliced cabbage
  • 1/2 cup sliced carrots
  • 1/2 cup frozen shelled edamame unthawed
  • 2 chopped green onions
  • handful chopped salted peanuts
  • 1 egg whisked with a teaspoon of sesame oil

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

Look at all that beautiful greenery, yay for health food that tastes good! Let’s get started!

The first step is to cook your quinoa. Iowa Girl Eats recommends rinsing your cup of quinoa in a strainer and then cooking for 15 minutes in the broth. However up here in the mountains rice and grains take a LONG time to cook so we started early. We tend to make quinoa on the weekends and just have it ready for the week, it takes about an hour to cook here. When everyone’s starving that just doesn’t work. So here it was ready to go when I arrived home πŸ™‚

DSC_0028

The next thing you’ll want to do is get the chicken cooking. I chopped it into bite size pieces and sauteed until it was cooked through.Β  While it was cooking I got the remainder of the ingredients ready. Once the chicken WAS cooked through I then set it aside to cool.

DSC_0027

And this guy waited to see if anything fell his direction.

DSC_0026

While the chicken cooked I went ahead and sliced and diced all the veggies so they’d be ready. I also prepared the actual peanut sauce. What you’ll do is mix the soy sauce, rice vinegar, chili garlic sauce, water, sugar and peanut butter in a glass bowl. Stick this in the oven for 30 seconds or so-just long enough so you can stir it together to make a somewhat creamy mix.Β  My sauce actually came out much lighter than hers but still tasted great!

DSC_0005

DSC_0016

DSC_0008

I did make one big mistake-I couldn’t find shelled edamame so I got the kind IN the shell-and spent about 15 minutes shelling half a cup. I’m not fast, I’m sure there was another easier method but I sure couldn’t think of it! Durn things.

DSC_0007

DSC_0010

Next I whisked the egg with the sesame oil and let it sit. At this point everything was pretty much prepped! As Iowa Girl Eats mentions the actual stir frying is very quick, so you want to make sure everything is ready and good to go.

You’re ready to stir fry! Put your carrots, cabbage, and edamame in your wok and stir until they begin to become tender. Once they do just push them to the side making a space in the center of the wok. Pour your egg in the space and turn over just barely until the egg is scrambled.

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

Once the egg is lightly scrambled you’ll fold in the quinoa, sauce, chicken and peanuts. Stir to mix and then serve hot! I actually added more peanuts at the end as well, plus some fresh cilantro from our garden.

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

And Jason added a LOT of peanuts at the end.

DSC_0044

But here was my final photographable product haha, a little more tasty looking than his I think. Is there such a thing as drowning your food in peanuts?!

DSC_0042

We ate outside, it was SO nice. I love summer.

DSC_0046

And of course my hubs always loves to be photographed.

DSC_0047

Hope you guys love this dish! I’ll be trying out more of her recipes soon, she’s a genius in the kitchen! Anna Mack, over and out!

Leave a Reply

