Honey Mustard & Parmesan Veggie Hash

If you guys know a single thing about me that’s important, know this-I HATE COLE SLAW. I know what you’re thinking, I’m Southern. Cole Slaw is pretty much a staple. Except I hate it. So whenever there’s an occasion that calls for slaw I’m looking for an alternative. I whipped up this honey mustard/parmesan veggie hash this weekend and it was totally awesome! Here’s one look at the finished product. Recipe follows.

food12

I think you really could use whatever veggies you have on hand but here’s what we did:

Ingredients:

  • Two cups acorn or butternut squash cubed
  • Three cups chopped/shredded brussels sprouts
  • 3/4 cup low fat honey mustard dressing
  • 3 tablespoons parmesan cheese (we just used the canned type)
  • olive oil for sauteeing
  • salt and pepper
  • crushed red pepper

Now here’s whatcha do.

1) Take your shredded sprouts and toss them in a bowl with 1/3 of the honey mustard dressing, then let them sit on the side to marinate a little bit.

food1

2) Next you’ll add your acorn squash with a little olive oil to a pan. They take forever to cook so I do this early on. We’re at altitude so this whole recipe took me about 25 minutes. I suspect a little closer to sea level it would be easier for you guys! We actually added sausage to ours as well because I was mad we didn’t have bacon. But in retrospect I would’ve just left it out haha.

food2

3) I sauteed the squash on medium for a little while with a pinch of salt, pepper, red pepper flake and just a tablespoon or so of the honey mustard and parmesan.

food4

food5

4) Once that’s all got a pretty good simmer going you’ll add the shredded sprouts.

food6

5) Next mix the remaining half cup of honey mustard with half a cup of water and pour over the sprouts. Toss well and add more red pepper flakes and let that simmer until the sprouts are as done as you like them.

food8

Serve hot! I like my sprouts to be a little more done and less crunch so I probably did cook them to death.

food9

food11

One final look! Happy Memorial Day y’all! Please take some time today to thank a soldier in your life!

food12

Leave a Reply

