St. Patty’s Day Cupcakes

Dia duit!!  Lá Fhéile Pádraig Shona!!!!

Don’t panic, you didn’t hit a weird button or setting.  That’s just Gaelic!!  It says: “Hello!  Happy St Patrick’s Day!”

I love this holiday above and beyond all the others!  For me it celebrates my rich family history and it means that spring is right around the corner (have you started your garden?)!  I go all out today.  I make amazing corned beef and potatoes for dinner.  I drink some good old Guinness and maybe even some Jamison.  😉  But the best part about it all are the Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes.  I thought today I would share with you how to make this amazingly rich, delicious cupcakes!!

There are three parts to this delectable cupcake.  A Guinness Chocolate cake.  A Jamison Ganache filling.  Topped with Bailey’s Irish Cream Frosting.  OH YUM!!!!  Let’s get baking!!

First things first: get everything together.  I for one like to lay everything out in bowls on the counter as best I can.  I always start with the cupcakes themselves and as they cool I make the Ganache and Frosting.  First up you’ll want to preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Measure out 1 cup of Guinness and 1 cup of butter.  Put both into a sauce pan over medium heat to melt the butter into the Guinness.  Once the butter is melted add in your 3/4 cup of cocoa powder.  Whisk it all together until it is smooth – I usually whisk continuously so it doesn’t burn to the bottom of my pan.  When it’s all blended together it should look like this:

IMG_2709

Put the chocolate mixture aside to cool.  In a separate bowl you’ll want to combine your 2 cups of flour, 2 cups of sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda and 3/4 teaspoon of salt (I always use a bit less and use the Lite Salt!) Like I said I always set out everything I need to begin with so here is everything!
IMG_2708

Once everything is mixed all together you’re going to want to set that aside as well, you’ll use it in just a sec!  Next up are the 2 eggs and the 2/3 cups of sour cream.  Now I love my mixer.  It is so cute and helpful when baking.  haha.  So I dump in my eggs and sour cream into my mixer bowl and let her rip!

IMG_2713 IMG_2716Once you have those two guys all beaten together into this pale yellow batter, you can add in that Guinness Chocolate mix you set aside earlier. IMG_2717

Now at this point I change over from my whisk attachment to my spatula!  And mix away!  You’ll probably notice the butter has separated a bit so make sure everything comes back together nice and smooth.IMG_2718 IMG_2719Viola!  You have your cake batter!!  Time to grab your cupcake pan lined with your paper cups.  I unfortunately spaced getting fun cup cake paper for the holiday so I had to make do with my regular ones!  IMG_2720

Make sure when you fill up your papers you’ll want them to all be the same level and do about 3/4 of the cup.  I did a bit more and they over flowed a bit.  Oopsie!  The nice thing about baking, there’s always a next time!  Pop them into your oven and start out with 17 minutes.  IMG_2723

Yes indeed they are done!  Now I don’t worry about them caving in because I am scooping out the middle for my Ganache filling.  Normally I would be pretty sad if these guys came out like this.  haha. Now make sure they are cooked through using the “tooth pick method”.  Make sure the toothpick comes out clean when you stick it into the center.

IMG_2724Pop these guys right on out of the pan to cool on your wire racks.  You’ll want these guys to be cooled all the way for the next steps.  IMG_2725

haha I just realized too you can see my son’s crystal growing experiment in that photo too.  What can I say our kitchen table is used for everything!!  I wandered off and made dinner while I let them sit and cool off.  🙂

Now time to make the Ganache Filling and Frosting!  The first thing I do is come back to my cupcakes and cut out part of the center of them so the Ganache Filling can really settle in!!  It sounds crazy but the thing I have found most helpful in cutting out the centers is a melon baller!IMG_2726

I just scoop out a bit of each one, but don’t go all the way down!  I go about 1/2 way down into the cake because I don’t want the Ganache to go everywhere!  The best part of this is when you’re done you have a small bowl of yummy cake bites!  I give mine to my hubby so he stops trying to steal a whole cupcake!IMG_2727

Alright they are all ready!  Now onto the Ganache!  It is super quick and easy.  Grab 2/3 cup HEAVY cream.  (I used half and half this time and it makes the Ganache a bit too runny.  Not so good for filling the cakes.)  On medium heat warm up your cream until it simmers.

IMG_2728Be real careful here because the cream can burn quick if you’re not watching.  I always whisk mine slowly.

Now in a heat safe bowl put in the 8 oz of bittersweet chocolate.  I always measure out my Jamison whiskey (2 teaspoons) and the 2 tablespoons of butter and set those off to the side ready to grab!

IMG_2729Once your cream is simmering you’re going to pour it right onto the chocolate in the bowl.  With a spatula or whisk gently stir from the center outwards to combine the chocolate until it’s smooth.  Add the butter and whiskey and stir until it’s combined.

IMG_2732

Hopefully yours looks a bit better than mine!!  Should be nice and thick.  Now you can move your Ganache into a piping bag if you’d like but I always just use a small spoon to put the Ganache into cupcakes!  Put a small dollop into each cupcake until it reaches the top of the cake!IMG_2740 IMG_2741There they are!  I moved my guys onto a carrying tray so I could bring them into the office!  haha.  Now for the Frosting!!

Now here’s the warning: this frosting has SO MUCH butter and sugar!!  It’s so worth it though.  🙂

Alright now this is easiest if you have a stand mixer but you can definitely used a hand held one too.  Use the whisk attachment and whip the butter (2 CUPS).  It’s easiest if the butter is room temperature but don’t use melted butter!  Whisk that butter for a good 5 minutes on medium-high until it is light and fluffy!  Stop every few minutes and scrap the sides.   It should look something like this:

IMG_2734Once your there you will want to add in the powdered sugar (a total of 5 cups!).  Now this part gets messy!!!  Add the sugar a bit at a time and watch out because when you mix it there will be a cloud of the sugar!  Use medium-low speed.IMG_2735

I put the cover on my mixer to avoid too much of the sugar cloud!  Whisk the butter and sugar together until it’s smooth.  Once you have it all smoothed out you can add in the Bailey’s Irish Cream (6 tablespoons).  🙂

IMG_2736Now you can frost your Ganache filled cupcakes!!  I know a lot of people have piping bags around their house to frost their cakes, but I am not always that fancy!  I usually grab a gallon size bag and put the frosting in there to make an impromptu piping bag. IMG_2742

Look!  Bag o’ Frosting!  haha.  From here I snip a small corner off and have a quick, easy piping bag!  🙂  Now I also don’t get too fancy with how I frost my cupcakes but feel free to get way more creative than I did!

IMG_2744And there they are!!  Amazing little gems of deliciousness!!!

They are a huge hit with all the girls at the office and my husband (who avoids sweets usually)!  I tell you what though, one is more rich and sweet than a whole cake!!  girls

There we are about to enjoy amazing cupcakes in all our green wear!!  I hope you love them!!  They are well worth the time and effort you put into them!

Happy Baking!!!  Say

 

Here are the ingredients broken down so you can make an easy shopping list.

For the Cupcakes:

1 cup Guinness

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup Dutch cocoa powder

2 cups all purpose flour

2 cups granulated sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

3/4 teaspoons salt

2 eggs

2/3 cup sour cream

 

For the Whiskey Ganache Filling:

8 oz bittersweet chocolate

2/3 cup heavy cream

2 tablespoons butter, at room temperature

2 teaspoons Irish whiskey

 

For the Bailey’s Frosting:

2 cups unsalted butter, room temperature

5 cups powdered sugar

6 tablespoons Bailey’s Irish Cream

 

**This recipe adapted from browneyedbaker.com**

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

