Parmesan, Lemon & Sausage Linguine

I drummed up this little recipe the other night when I was REALLY craving pasta. I wasn’t really wanting something super heavy though, and parmesan/lemon sounded like a fantastic combo. Here’s what you’ll need (though at the end I totally decided to add basil and spinach as well).

INGREDIENTS:

  • Handful basil
  • Handful spinach
  • 3 sausage links (we used 1 andouille and 2 chicken sausage)
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 small packet of linguine noodles
  • olive oil
  • 1 can petite diced tomatoes with juice
  • the juice of 3 lemons
  • finely grated parmesan cheese
  • the Mikes Hard Lemonade is NOT an ingredient, just my fave cooking drink so feel free to have one yourself!

pasta1

This recipe is so simple and can be put together in about 20-25 minutes. First you’ll take the onion and garlic and place them in the food processor. I don’t love giant chunks of onion OR garlic so I grind them up finely. You can grind them up to whatever size you prefer! Then set them to saute on medium heat in a pot or dutch oven.

onions

pot

Next I diced my sausages up into bite sized pieces. Keep the onions and garlic on saute until they begin to caramelize. Then you can add the sausages in to begin to brown.  I did use a whole onion because I wanted it to form the base for an actual sauce that could coat my noodles.

sausages2

pasta2

Once the sausages begin to brown you can begin turning and scraping them, making sure to get all the drippings from the bottom of the pan up into the sauce. That’ll give it a really nice flavor!

pasta3

As the sausages are cooking go ahead and cut your three lemons in half. Hold them over the sausage mix squeezing to remove the juice. If you hold the lemons over your hand you’ll be able to catch the seeds to make sure they don’t end up in your pasta.

Like my North Carolina cutting board? A big THANK YOU to my bro and sis in law for the gift :0)

lemons1

Now that the lemon juice has been added continue to turn the mix. Add the can of petite diced tomatoes and a generous handful of parmesan cheese. Continue letting the sauce simmer, adding anything else you might want at this point.  I added a smidge of basil at this point but left plenty aside for a topping. At this point I went ahead and cooked my noodles, they only took about 8 minutes. I did break the noodles in half and I did NOT photo them. We’ve all seen a noodle cook right?!

pasta5

pasta4

Once the sauce is seasoned to your liking and your noodles are done you can remove the sauce from the heat.  I mixed my sauce and noodles all together in one huge bowl. Add a dash of parmesan and basil to the top and you’re good to go! A beautiful, lovely dinner.

pasta6

pasta7

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

