Camper Cushions Revitalization Project (AKA the CCRP) ;0)

You all might remember we purchased a 30 year old camper with the hopes of taking it all around ‘merica this summer. If not then you’re missing quite a post. You can read all about it here and here.  We’re going for a kind of tiki theme and since its winter we’re just starting small projects first. We eventually intend to rip up the floor, repaint all the cabinets and walls, and refinish all the furniture.  Unfortunately our weather here in Colorado is totally unpredictable and there’s been a LOT of snow lately. I don’t know about you guys, but hanging out in our un-heated camper in 3 feet of snow is not really my idea of fun.  So the poor thing has just been sitting there.

My very first project was to enlist my MIL’s help to recover the kitchen cushions.  Here’s the before y’all:

cushions

OMG ha!!!!!! I think we totally had a sofa that was this set of colors in the 80s.  For sure the carpet is this same strange mix of colors. I am a HUGE fan of color theory and there are literally places in the carpet where I can’t tell if its pink or blue.  The other issue we faced with the cushions was they SMELLED.  Like badddd.  Like a cow poop. And that’s probably because the trailer was parked next to a cow field for the last two years.  So we couldn’t even recover with the cushions on for extra padding.  I’m not a great seamstress so I was hoping to recover the cushions like any seat cushion-with my handy dandy staple gun.

I had my husband cut me some super thin wood to glue to the back of the cushions and that was our step one.  After convincing the dog it really wasn’t his permanent bed.  That was hard.

camper2

The other materials I used for this project are:

  • spray adhesive (any kind will do)
  • staple gun and staples
  • scissors
  • the original foam of the original cushions
  • oilcloth (I purchased about 8 yards leaving room for major errors on my part, which I’m happy to say I did not make). You can purchase this online from many vendors but two of my favorites are Oilcloth Alley and Oilcloth Addict.   I did purchase mine for this project from Oilcloth Addict-her selection is beautiful.

My second step was to lay the cushions out on the oilcloth to figure out the length needed. I also made sure to lay each subsequent cushion out the same way so our pattern would all be headed the same way.

camper1

I did this step on the floor since the cushions and fabric were so spacious.  We actually worked on this project during our store’s monthly Stitch-N-Bitch night. I love it! Women. Crafting. Chips & Salsa. What more could you want. If you want to ever attend please come to our store from 5-8 the second monday of every month! More info on our site here.

Moving along. Once I had cut the oilcloth to the appropriate length I moved the whole shebang to our table for ease of access. We decided ultimately to wrap each cushion like a present. The ends were pretty severe squares so we couldn’t really do a traditional seat cushion wrapping method.  We tackled the longer sides first.  We stapled the first side tight to the board backing.  Next we rolled the cushion over, pressing and flattening the oilcloth towards the other side then pulling it tight and gluing on the back.  Once the glue had dried we stapled that side also.

cushions9

Once we had both longer sides stapled we tackled the short ends. Because the oilcloth was SO thick we ended up cutting out any overlapping excess. So essentially the folded over present-style ends didn’t really have doubled over fabric like they normally would. See the huge stack of cuttings to the side of our cushion?

camper7

You can see in the pic below as well how we cut out the extra so that the ends of our cushion wouldn’t be too thick. We realized we do still have to press the cushion back into the bench seating frame and it has sides. So if we made the cushion too thick it would never fit back into the frame.

camper6

We utilized spray adhesive on these ends as well, spraying the underside down first and making sure to really smooth everything out before pulling the last pointed end onto the board and stapling.

camper3

You can’t see the board here but that’s the back of the cushion there. We pulled everything tight and because we trimmed all the excess oilcloth the whole thing was pretty flat actually! Wyatt really disliked the stapling part because we accidentally stapled incorrectly once and it flew up into the air and landed with a bang and he heard it and it reminded him of thunder and he sat and shook in the corner and it was so scarrryyyyyyyyyy. (See how that’s his stream of consciousness in this picture?)

camper10

He hung in there though, and so did my MIL. And we got it done.

BAM.

camper5

grand finale

Since the rest of the camper is still terrifyingly 80s I won’t show a pic yet of the cushions in place. But its coming soon my friends!

Hope you enjoy our little random DIY projects.  Camper renovating is turning out to be my (maybe) favorite thing ever.

Out for now!

Anna-Mack

5 thoughts on “Camper Cushions Revitalization Project (AKA the CCRP) ;0)

  1. Hi! I just found your blog after searching for “easy clean camper cushions.” I’m looking for something to recover mine that is wipeable (is that a word?) yet durable (I have four small kids). I have never used oilcloth. Do you think it will it hold up well? Are you concerned about it cracking or melting while the camper is stored? Just curious. Your cushions look great!

    • Hi Melissa!!! I’d totally recommend oilcloth. Its coated so I don’t think it would crack. Maybe after a few years of wear? Ours have held up super well so far! Oilcloth is a great way to go. Also maybe you could get the plastic-coated canvas?

      • Thank you so much for your quick reply! You have helped me a lot! I’ll send you pictures once I get my cushions redone. Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: TV Armoire Redo-Also Known As Organizing Day | Fleuriste Craft Supply

  3. I did the same. But have found out that when we sit on the cushion, it seems to flatten down to the piece of board we attached. Any suggestions? Will adding tufts help?

Leave a Reply

