A General Aside-Wheat Free!

This blog is about life in general as a small business owner. Occasionally I get off on tangents but 99% of the time what I talk about here is directly related to our products or services etc I think can help you guys. But I thought it might be fun to branch out a little bit more. After some recent health scares the hubs and I have been doing a LOT of research on diet. At 30 years old I have terrible cholesterol. My kid brother does too so clearly it runs in our family-but why should it? Why shouldn’t we be able to get past it? I don’t want to go on meds at 30 years old for the rest of my life if I can physically do something about it.

Mr. Fleuriste and I recently read the book Wheat Belly-written by a cardiologist a la South Beach Diet. The basic theory is that wheat is so vastly genetically modified from even 50 years ago that you’re essentially poisoning yourself every time you consume it.  Think those whole grain breads are better for you? Think again-you’re slowly killing yourself with them (according to this book). Its an interesting read, and he brings up lots of points that got me thinking.

We decided to basically do the first phase of South Beach, where you cut out processed white carbs, whole grain carbs, fruits and alcohols. Then after two weeks of cleansing essentially, we’d add carbs back in but follow the Wheat Belly rules. We’re headed into week four right now and the difference in me has been pretty astonishing.

1) I don’t really need to lose a bundle of weight, but I wouldn’t cry if 11 pounds magically disappeared tomorrow. I lost 5 of them in a week when I cut out processed breads and grains. What’s more, I’ve kept them off and continue to lose more weekly. My assumption is it’ll take me a while since I don’t really NEED to lose a bunch of weight. I’m hitting the gym too 🙂

2) I am a terrible sleeper-I mean TERRIBLE. I’m pretty much an insomniac until about 4am every morning when I fall into a deep sleep until 7…its not a good schedule. After three weeks of almost no wheat I still wake up at night but I fall back asleep quickly and easily. I’m never fully awake-never.

3) I have ridiculously copious amounts of energy now. After starting this business and working a million hours a week I started to notice I was falling asleep on the sofa at 8pm. I had no energy even on the weekends. Turning the TV on would put me into an immediate exhausted coma no matter the time of day. After two weeks on my current diet that just totally flip flopped one day. I went to bed exhausted and I woke up feeling refreshed and clear-and its never stopped. I have more energy than I’ve ever had in my life!

4) I have no cravings-really none. I see pasta and I think oh that looks nice-but if it was in front of me I wouldn’t eat it. After just three weeks of dietary changes eating something wheat-heavy puts me into an immediate food coma with a terrible bloated feeling and stomach pains-its just not even worth it. And it makes me wonder what it has been doing to my body for the last 30 years!!

That’s enough history I think-y’all are certainly capable of deciding for yourselves if you think wheat free might be for you. If you think it is definitely read Wheat Belly and see what you think-it made SENSE to me. You’re not supposed to go around being hungry all the time. I eat until I’m full-and then I stop. I don’t get cravings or feel starving an hour after eating a meal. I eat when my body needs it and that’s it.

So here are a few recipes we made this week-I promise I’ll bring my fancy camera home from the office this week and take better pics. I tweaked some of the recipes depending on personal preference. My hubs doesn’t enjoy food unless its painful to eat it so he always drenches his in Sriracha 😉

One night this week we made a great Faux Fried Rice and Ginger Chicken Stir Fry. Pics and recipes below!

faux fried rice

Well that’s in iPhone pic for ya-sorry! I’ll bring my “real” camera soon. Here are your ingredients:

1 Head Cauliflower, raw

4 Baby Carrots Diced

1/2 Bag Frozen Peas

1 Small Yellow Onion Chopped Finely

Gluten Free Soy Sauce to taste

1/8 cup chicken broth

This recipe is SO easy! Just chop up your cauliflower into manageable florets and pulse in a blender or food processor. Essentially you want them to be rice sized. Set aside to let them come to room temperature.  Throw your onions in a sauce pan and cook about 5 minutes or until tender. Add your cauliflower and half the chicken broth to the pan and cook until al dente. I leave mine covered because it seems to cook more evenly that way.

Once your cauliflower is cooked but not QUITE soft enough throw in the rest of the veggies and stir. Add gluten free soy sauce to taste. I like mine to be pretty saucy so we added a ton. The only thing I’d change about this recipe would be to add one egg at the very end as well so it could scramble with the rice.

Now here’s the thing-I’m PICKY about rice and potatoes. Fake taters and fake rice generally don’t impress me. A vegetable is a vegetable and it just isn’t rice haha. I’ve made this faux rice a few times now and it definitely works best with asian inspired dishes. I’m not sure if its the type of sauces they tend to have, but this would not be great with chili, for instance.  Its perfect with our Ginger Chicken Stir Fry though!!!

stir fry2

This recipe was such a hit in our house that we actually made it twice this week!

Ingredients:

1 mini sweet pepper diced

1 small yellow onion chopped

4 carrots diced

1 clove garlic minced

1 tablespoon fresh ginger grated

salt and pepper to taste

1 tablespoon organic brown sugar

cashews to garnish with

1 cup cooked chicken diced

5 tablespoons chicken broth

2 tablespoons gluten free soy sauce

4 green onions diced

3 cups bean sprouts

1 cup water chestnuts chopped

1 tablespoon olive oil or coconut oil (I prefer the flavor of olive oil to coconut)

2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar

You can add or take away veggies as necessary. For instance the second time we made this this week we added finely chopped mushrooms and cashews as well. Mix and match until you find your ideal recipe.

Here’s whatcha do:

Over medium low heat, heat up the oil and throw in the onion. Cook that for 5 minutes or until tender. I actually prefer mine to carmelize a bit so once they’re tender I hike the heat up for a minute to brown them 🙂 Add the carrots, garlic, ginger, water chestnuts, pepper (and any other veggies you need to steam). Cook for 3 more minutes.

Add chicken, broth, soy sauce, salt and pepper if you want, vinegar, and cook for 3 minutes. Add the green onions and cook 2 more minutes.

Remove from heat and its ready to go! This makes essentially 2 dinner servings, so I usually double it so I’ll have leftovers. We mixed this with the faux fried rice and it was awesome!!

Leave a Reply

