Life as an Entrepreneur (aka Workaholic)…and how to maintain balance

Psh. As if I could give advice on maintaining a work/life balance! Here’s me:

Source

I would say being an entrepreneur develops in a person the tendency to also be somewhat of a workaholic. I’m fairly certain it comes with the territory. When the business is YOURS its easy to be immersed in doing literally everything you can to get it up and running-and then to KEEP it running all the time.Β  To be honest I don’t even DISLIKE being a workaholic, which apparently is one of the warning signs πŸ™‚ See below for the Workaholics Anonymous “Are you A Workaholic” Quiz :

  1. Do you get more excited about your work than about family or anything else
  2. Are there times when you can charge through your work and other times when you can’t?
  3. Do you take work with you to bed? On weekends? On vacation?
  4. Is work the activity you like to do best and talk about most?
  5. Do you work more than 40 hours a week?
  6. Do you turn your hobbies into money-making ventures?
  7. Do you take complete responsibility for the outcome of your work efforts?
  8. Have your family or friends given up expecting you on time?
  9. Do you take on extra work because you are concerned that it won’t otherwise get done?
  10. Do you underestimate how long a project will take and then rush to complete it?
  11. Do you believe that it is okay to work long hours if you love what you are doing?
  12. Do you get impatient with people who have other priorities besides work?
  13. Are you afraid that if you don’t work hard you will lose your job or be a failure?
  14. Is the future a constant worry for you even when things are going very well?
  15. Do you do things energetically and competitively including play?
  16. Do you get irritated when people ask you to stop doing your work in order to do something else?
  17. Have your long hours hurt your family or other relationships?
  18. Do you think about your work while driving, falling asleep or when others are talking?
  19. Do you work or read during meals?
  20. Do you believe that more money will solve the other problems in your life?

I mean who HASN’T taken their work to bed or the bathroom?! Doesn’t everyone wake up in the middle of the night to check Etsy convos? I can’t be the only one!!!! (Or am I?) Judging by the weird hours I get responses back I’m guessing I ain’t the only gal in this town with a workaholic problem πŸ˜‰

Balancing work and family life and fun can be SO hard when you work for yourself. But I’d also argue that “yourself” is technically a business asset-and needs to be cared for. I’ve recently adopted the rule that I don’t work on Sundays-at all. It really sucked at first and I even once feigned constipation so I could sit in the bathroom uninterrupted for 20 minutes with my ipad. I’m not even kidding.

But then after a couple of weeks of whining and then yelling and pitching a fit and then ultimately having all my technologies sequestered away from me by force-I gave in. I sat down. I cooked. I scratched my dogs.

And ultimately I came to realize I’m a better person at work as a result of NOT working. It makes total sense, its just hard to do. Here are a couple things to get you started down the path to recovery if you’re a workaholic too.

1) Remind yourself its important to invest in YOU, and not just your company. You’re the driving force behind that company and it is made up of your efforts. But you being on top of your game is just as important as having the right item in stock or writing a customer back quickly.

2) Nobody gives a hoot if you don’t work on the weekends. The only person who CARES if you don’t work on Saturday and Sunday is YOU!

3) Ever had a friend who couldn’t hang out much because she got a new boyfriend? Well you my friend are now one of those girls. You’re just dating your job instead of a hot dude-and we all know how it feels to be on the receiving end of THAT friendship-peace out!!!!! Take time with your family and friends-your family especially is probably one of the reasons you STARTED a business. To give them the life you want them to have.

4)Finally-life is short. We’ve all had bitter reminders of this fact. I’ve lost family members and friends. You just never know what day may be your last-so work if you want-but celebrate too. Life is beautiful. Its worth living thoroughly and well, and you should enjoy every minute.

As Bob Marley once said, “Some people dance in the rain, others just get wet”. I’m striving every day to be in that first group πŸ˜‰
PS Every few weeks I’ll be adding to this “Workaholic” series with tips and tricks I learn in my own journey to not be nuts πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Life as an Entrepreneur (aka Workaholic)…and how to maintain balance

Leave a Reply

